What I have learned during the 30 days that I have logged my food

Yesterday I reached another goal and logged my food for 30 days straight (started at 5, 10, 15, 20 and then made it to 30).

I’m going to up the ante a bit and make my next goal to log all my for the next 30 days instead of having it be cumulative.  Again, the only goal is to log the food for now.  Soon I’m going to add a goal about staying within my calories x many days, but I don’t know if I’m ready for that yet.

Before I kept adding on, this time it’s a longer goal, but still short term.

I think that has really made the difference because there were times in the past where I would say, “I went over, why does it matter” and then eat WAY over because I’m already not perfect right?

I’ve learned a lot in the process.  A lot of it I really knew underneath it all, but it really reinforced some points.

  1. I need to track my food.
  2. I don’t need to be perfect and within my calories every day.
  3. I don’t have to be perfect to be successful.
  4. Keeping track of my food does not equal restriction.
  5. Tracking my food gives me balance and perspective.
  6. Tracking my food helps me making choices that make me happy.
  7. Not tracking my food isn’t hiding anything from anyone.

I’m sure there are more things, but it’s all I can think of right now.

I have to admit that tracking my food on days that I went way over was quite a “freeing” process.  Some days it will be like “woah, I can’t believe I ate that much” and other days it’s “wow, that wasn’t as bad as I thought”.

So my current goals are:

  1. Log all of my food for next 30 days (today is day 0)
  2. Weigh 249 or less
  3. Go through the Am I Hungry? Mindful Eating Workbook and Awareness Journal: Companion to Eat what you Love, Love what you Eat and reread the chapters that go with it.
About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What I have learned during the 30 days that I have logged my food

  1. Shelly says:

    Do you use My Fitness Pal?

  2. I love number 6 and 7! Congrats!

  3. Christina says:

    Hi, I’m steeners83 on the 100+ board—I made a post a week or so ago about books for binge eating and you recommended that I see a therapist along with reading “Eat what you love, love what you eat for Binge Eating”. Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I had my first appointment with the therapist today, and I think this is going to be a very good thing. Thank you so much for your encouragement and wisdom! I’m about 1/3 of the way through the book, and wow–talk about life changing!

  4. Christina says:

    Oh, I just saw your “about me”… I had lapband surgery on October 31, 2010! I’m sorry to say we seem to be in same boat.

  5. leannenalani says:

    I’ve still gotta get myself out of thinking that just because I’m tracking means that I’m depriving myself because that is totally not true! I go over occasionally and that’s ok. On MFP I’ve gotten in the habit of checking my weekly deficit just to see where I’m at so far in the week. I recently set my goals to “maintain” even though I am trying to lose just so I can see what my general deficits are.

Leave a Reply

