WI Monday!!! Another goal met!

Happy Memorial Day!

Today is also weigh in day for me and I’m down another 2.4 lbs!  I was in shock when I saw the scale because I definitely wasn’t expecting it.

Saturday night I went with my husband and friends to see Chelsea Handler at Mohegan Sun.  We were celebrating my friend’s 40th birthday (which is actually tomorrow) and I just let myself enjoy the night and have what I felt like.

We had dinner at Hash House a Go Go, which is the only place I know that has portions that rival Cheesecake Factory.

Here is a picture of my dinner:

Image

That is the Indiana Crispy Hand Hammered Pork Tenderloin.  Tasted amazing.  I should have taken an “after” picture because I don’t even think I got through 1/5th of it.

My husband got the chicken and waffles.

Image

You know what was truly great about it though?  No guilt. Just choice.  I even attempted to log it all and it was pure estimation, but I’m still on my way to logging my food for 30 days in a row.

Chelsea Handler was amazing and I laughed my ass off.  After the show we gambled, drank, and had some desert.  I even did a shot of chilled patron silver (which I do love the taste of).

It felt normal and that felt great.

We stayed over at the Hyatt and breakfast was included the next morning.  I did feel nervous about it at first because I usually overdo it at those “free” breakfasts.

It’s not really free though, you are paying for it through your hotel room.

I had a choice, I could go nuts or I could eat a normal breakfast like I would at home.  I had to think, was there really anything there that I couldn’t have anytime I wanted to???  Of course not.

So I grabbed some yogurt and granola and I did choose to have a mini donut.  My friend and I were up earlier than my husband so we ended up at the breakfast again.  I was hungry (guess I didn’t have enough yogurt, granola and donut) and so I grabbed some scrambled eggs and a sausage.

I just feel a bit free right now. I haven’t been depriving myself.  How can I feel deprived when I not only had the meal above, but fried ice cream, sangria and tequila? 🙂

My parents did ask me to join them out for dinner last night and I chose not to.  I told them that I had a heavy meal the night before and that I didn’t want to go out.  The best part about telling them that is it was the truth.  It wasn’t about deprivation or restriction, I really didn’t want to go out.

Instead I planned a good meal at home (made that shrimp, spinach and pasta again).

Now on to the goal that I met.  I wish I could say it was weigh 249 or under, but that is getting very close.  Could even happen in the next week or two.

The goal I met was finally finishing Eat What You Love, Love What You Eat for Binge Eating: Mindful Eating Program for Healing Your Relationship with Food & Your Body.  In some ways, I don’t think I wanted to finish it.  I wanted that book to last forever and stay with me because I was afraid to be without it.

So I’m going to reread it.  I’m going to reread it along with the workbook that goes along with it.

So my goals are currently:

  1. Log all of my food for 30 straight days (today is day 29)
  2. Weigh 249 or less
  3. Go through the Am I Hungry? Mindful Eating Workbook and Awareness Journal: Companion to Eat what you Love, Love what you Eat and reread the chapters that go with it.

Life is good.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WI Monday!!! Another goal met!

  1. I’m going to have to check that book out. You are doing so great! Congrats Nancy!

  2. nancykerins says:

    Thank you! I’m feeling good. I’m also not completely dreading my conference a week from today because I feel so much in control of my choices.

  3. leannenalani says:

    You are doing amazing! Congrats on your loss for the week and living a “normal” life without deprivation. Sounds like a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

