And the cravings continue…

Yesterday was my night off from exercise.

On Wednesdays I go to dance mania and then TRX.  I’m often really sore from TRX as I work my @$$$$$$ off so it’s a perfect night off.

For some reason, when I have a night off, all I want to do it eat.

When I was picking up my son for his swim class, I couldn’t get donuts out of my head.  So I decided, instead of obsessing about the donut, denying myself and then binging later, I would just buy a donut.

I went into honeydew donuts, bought one for me and one for my son (his favorite so how could I not get him one?).

I have to admit though, I did my best to enjoy every bite, but it just wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be.

What is important though is I decided to eat something, I ate it in moderation, and I tracked it.

Later that night I was feeling just munchy.  I again decided not to fight.  I just don’t think I had it in me to fight myself last night.

Again, the good news was I tracked it and I kept the portions low.  One portion of popcorn and one portion of cheez-its.

I ended up over by about 400 calories yesterday so I consider that a victory.

I consider last night a victory.  I’m a little bloated this morning from all the salt, but I feel good that I didn’t binge.  I totally snacked, but it was far from a binge.

Instead of fighting with myself for hours and then giving in, I just made a choice.

I don’t feel guilty today.  I don’t feel upset.

I am feeling cautious though.  Even though last night was ok with me, I’m afraid it will become a habit and that is not a good thing.

I can be ok with nights like last night as long as it doesn’t become a nightly thing.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

