Blood test result victory

Cholesterol issues run in my family.

My parents are both at healthy weights and have had cholesterol issues for years.   Sounds like one of my grandparents also had an issue.  The others could have as well, but one died young and the others weren’t good about going to doctors.

The weird thing about my cholesterol issues, is often when I gain weight, it goes down and when I lose weight it goes up (See posts: “Why is it everytime I lose a signifigant amount of weight, my cholesterol goes up?” and “Yearly Physical (!@@##@$@# Cholesterol!)“).

When we checked my cholesterol at my yearly physical in August, my total cholesterol was 261, and it’s now 193!!!

My triglycerides went from 226 to 128!  LDL from 167 to 120!  Ratio from 5.3 to 4.1!  None of these were my highest numbers either.

Even my HDL has risen a bit which is a good thing.

My six month follow up appointment (which did get delayed a little) is Friday and I’m excited to go for once because maybe we’ll be able to lower my statins a bit finally.

It just feels great to see progress.  I actually want to cry I’m so happy right now.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to go off medication completely due to genetic issues, but to finally see something working is just beyond.

 

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blood test result victory

  1. Congrats! That is a huge victory!!

Leave a Reply

