WI Monday and letting go of the food guilt!

This week I lost 1.8 lbs!!!  I’m very excited because I’m getting closer and closer to my goal of being 249 or under.

I also reached my goal of logging my food for 20 days straight so the next food logging goal is going to be 30 days!

Letting go of the food guilt has been a great thing.  I probably always will have some food regrets and times where I am thinking, “Why did I eat that???”, but the more that I work on making no food “off limits” the better.

I enjoyed what I ate and I logged every bit of it.  Some days I went over and that is ok.

Friday night I enjoyed some popcorn with a little bit of butter while I watched my movie rental at home.  Saturday night I ate off of a vegetarian taco food truck and had the most amazing plantain taco and chips with pinto dip.  Sunday, I enjoyed crap cake eggs benedict and a few bites of my son’s pancake from The Ugly Mug Diner (which I might have to become a regular at).  Sunday night I grilled for my family and my sister brought over apple pie from the farm she visited and I had a piece.

Now why is the paragraph above important????  It’s important because I was able to enjoy all of that with moderation and without guilty.  Plus I was still able to lose weight!

Restriction doesn’t work for me.  It just doesn’t.  Telling me that I can’t have something makes me want it more.  I have to know that something is MY CHOICE!

Now there are some items that I am choosing not to keep in the house still as I have trouble eating them in moderation, but maybe someday I’ll get there to where I can have it in the house.

I’m also finding that buying the single serving packets of items is easier.  I know myself and I’ll get lazy and not measure something so it’s just easier for me if I want cheez-its to grab a single serving bag and enjoy it.

On another good note, last week I hurt my lower back and have not been able to return to Dance Mania/Zumba since.  I did go out for some walks and did some yoga, but I’m hoping tonight I feel up to it.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WI Monday and letting go of the food guilt!

  1. leannenalani says:

    Congratulations on your 1.8 pounds! That is great! I agree that no food should be off limits. Deprivation doesn’t usually help because then we just want it all the more.

  2. I am guaranteed to want something more as soon as I say it is off limits, so I’m trying to avoid that. You’re right – we need to learn to make peace with food!

Leave a Reply

