You know your muscles are beyond tight when…

you actually shock a massage therapist to the point where they exclaim, “OMG!!!!” accidentally during your treatment.

Wednesday night is my big work out night.  I pay extra for a class called TRX plus and I still go to Dance Mania before.  I’ve been doing this for a while.

TRX Plus is like TRX, but with other circuit training items mixed in (kettle bell, medicine ball, bosu, etc.).

We were using gliding discs and something didn’t feel right and I stopped the exercise.  I think I pulled too much with my back instead of my abs.

I woke up yesterday morning stiff with a bit of lower back and hip pain.  Not as much as sent me to physical therapy in the past, but enough that I knew it was time for some pain meds, ice, and rest.

I decided to get a sports massage to see if I could help the healing process along.  I called over to the place that I go and told them the issue and they recommended someone who was studying to become a PT.

I had to laugh because she was in shock on how tight and spasm’ing things were in my hips and glutes.  This is one time where a high pain tolerance is a gift and a curse because it might have been developing for a while and I didn’t feel it coming.  When she found the culprit muscle that starts it on on the front of my right hip, that is when the “Oh my god!!!!” came out accidentally.   I actually laughed out loud when she did it.  It’s not very often you shock a massage therapist.

I’m quite sore and feeling a little bruised today, but in a good way.   I expected what I’m feeling today with what we did yesterday and it’s a good thing towards my recovery.

Thursday is my rest day anyway and I’ll have to rest again tonight.  Movement does feel good so if it’s not raining, maybe I’ll go for a walk with my son.

No Dance Mania tomorrow though, so that bums me out.  There is a yoga class at my temple in the morning so I might go to that and get a good stretch.

What sucks is because I was resting and not moving, I did want to snack and eat and I had to really fight it.  I was thankful for the massage appointment because it did help redirect my time a bit away from sitting in front of the TV and wanting to eat.

Hopefully tonight will be better.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You know your muscles are beyond tight when…

  1. Glad you had the distraction of the massage to help with the munchies! I have a hard time with eating too much on non-workout days because a) I get in the habit of eating a certain amount and having activity to balance it out, b) if it is forced rest because I’m sore or can’t find time to work out, the frustration makes me want to eat and c) you’ve got all of that empty time to fill. Good job in finding another way to fill that time and avoid snacking too much!

Leave a Reply

