I’m a daily weigher and that works for me

Some people say stay off the scale.  That doesn’t work for me.

When I am staying off the scale, I’m avoiding that number.  I don’t want to see how much I’ve gained or what is going on.  I’m not taking care of myself and I don’t want to admit it.

Someday I’ll hopefully find a better balance, but right now weighing daily is a sign that I am paying attention to me.

One thing that is important though is to accept the daily fluctuations in weight.  I might weigh myself daily, but I do my best to record my weight only once a week.

That is even a struggle though because I get excited sometimes mid week and I want to record that number so badly (like this morning).

One thing that I have learned though is to accept the fluctuations and not let them bother me.  For example, last week, my weight was a little lower, went a little higher, and then a little lower again, but not as low.

I could have logged all of that and seen the down/up/down, but I chose not to.

I think what is most important is to find what works for you in this journey.  I hope to get to the point where I can find that balance of paying attention to myself, but staying off the scale.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

