Even though I’m active, I’ve become lazy

We were talking about this at work last week.

When I started out in the working world when I was 14, I had a 10 – 15 minute walk to the bus and then another 10 minute walk after taking the bus to my job.

In college, my off campus apartment was often a 30 minute plus walk to my job and my classes.

After college, all of my jobs required some form of public transportation and walking during my commute, until this one.

Since I’ve been at the hospital, I’ve had access to an employee shuttle from the parking lot.

We were debating how far it was from the office to the parking lot last week, so I used map my run to measure it. Someone said a mile, it’s 2/3rd of a mile.

I’ve been working at this job for almost 9 years and I rarely walk from my car to my office. It’s a 10 minute walk. It’s not that far.

I have so many excuses like:

I have too much to carry.

I’m not wearing the right shoes.

It’s cold.

It’s raining.

You know what though, I didn’t have those excuses the other jobs.

Today I walked in from the parking lot with my laptop bag (which is normally one of my excuses to take the shuttle).

I realized when we were talking about it that the shuttle has spoiled me and made me lazy.  Because I have the choice to either walk or take a shuttle, I rarely make the choice to walk.

I used to change my shoes when I got into work due to the walking. Why don’t I do that now?

So now it’s my goal to rarely use the shuttle and only use it if I’m running late.

I’m going to keep my work shoes at my desk (like I used to in my old jobs) and wear shoes to and from work that allow me to walk.

I want to keep this up at least through the nice weather. It’s a great excuse to enjoy the fresh air.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Even though I’m active, I’ve become lazy

  1. leannenalani says:

    Good plan. I am grateful that our parking lot is very far away from my classroom and the whole campus is spread out over a wide area so getting anywhere takes some walking time.

Leave a Reply

