The weekend and WI Monday

Wow!  This weekend flew by!

I’m feeling good with the choices I’m making.

On Friday, I saw my therapist and talked to her about the word/attitude “choice” instead of “control”.

I think trying to be in “control” has been a mistake in my past.  In trying to be in “control”, I was still saying that some food is good and some food is bad.  That if I ate certain things that I was bad and out of “control”.

I’m working on everything being a “choice”.  It’s not good or bad, it’s just a choice.

This weekend worried me because I was going out on Saturday night and it was Mother’s day.

I had to keep repeating to myself that I would make choices to eat the foods that I wanted and I would log it all and if I stayed under my calories great, if I didn’t oh well.

Saturday night we went out for dinner and I ended up having sushi.  I really wanted hibachi, but there were no available tables.  When we went to the movies, I really wanted popcorn with butter.  Giving myself permission to choose to have that and not regret it was wonderful.  The movie theater that we went to is one of those real butter theaters that actually pops the popcorn there and I just LOVE movie theater popcorn with real butter.  I shared a medium popcorn with my husband and didn’t even eat the whole thing!

Sunday was Mother’s day brunch.  I had recently read a chapter in Eat What You Love, Love What You Eat for Binge Eating: Mindful Eating Program for Healing Your Relationship with Food & Your Body that had talked about eating a buffets and to use that as an opportunity to really only eat what you want.

So I was really picky about what I put on my plate and only ate the things that I really wanted a taste of.  I even had a piece of this marble cake that was really good for desert.

I spent the rest of my day planting strawberries (I’m trying one of those vertical planters) and at my mother’s house.

My parents wanted to send out for Chinese food so I ended up having more sushi because after everything I ate at brunch, I didn’t want to have a double day of high calorie foods.

I feel really good about this weekend.  I logged it all.  I had to do some serious guestimating, especially with the brunch.

Logging is getting more and more natural and I actually had to count the days to know that today is day 15!

Everything is working though because at weigh in this morning, I was down 4lbs from last Monday.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The weekend and WI Monday

  1. Great progress with tracking and your weight loss so far! I especially love how positive you’re feeling. That is such a huge success! Congrats! Happy Mothers Day!

  2. nancykerins says:

    Thanks! I’m really working on the mental side of things and even though I do have my moments, I need to get my brain in line with my wants in life. Happy Mother’s Day!!

  3. leannenalani says:

    Congratulations on your weight loss, and even more exciting is the choices you are making. You still get to enjoy the foods you love and lose weight! I also love movie theater popcorn. I’m usually too scared to order it because they come in such large servings, but sharing it is a great idea so then you get to have some but not feel like you have to eat it all.

Leave a Reply

