OH NO!!! Chocolate has ENTERED the house!!!!

Hopefully you read that title with the bit of sarcasm that was in my head.

Last night, my husband came home from his business trip to Hawaii.  He brought gifts.  He got our son a few cute t shirts, he got us a new fridge magnet (tradition), he bought me a new coffee mug and some kona coffee (yum), and he also brought a box of chocolate covered macadamia nuts.

The old me would have torn into that box and ate the whole thing last night.

The new me is trying to learn to trust myself.

I haven’t opened the box yet, but I want to use this as an opportunity to practice my mindful eating.  Tonight I will look at the label and add the NI to my fitness pal.  

I have to remind myself that this is NOT about control, it’s about choice.  It’s OK to choose to have some if I want it.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OH NO!!! Chocolate has ENTERED the house!!!!

  1. leannenalani says:

    Mmmm I love those Mauna Loa chocolate covered macadamea nuts. One or two every so often is the perfect treat. 🙂 Did you get caramacs, too? Good idea about making plans for eating them. When you do eat them you will probably appreciate the flavors more. I know when I tear into a box of chocolate I usually don’t do a whole lot of savoring or thinking, so now I’m practicing noticing the flavors of food more because I only get a little bit.

  2. nancykerins says:

    This is my husband’s first business trip there so he just came back with what he called the “standard Hawaii gift” of the chocolate covered macadamia nuts. We are both going in November so I might have to explore what the caramacs are.

  3. Chocolate covered macadamia nuts are so good! I brought my husband some last time I was there for work – you’re right, it’s definitely the “standard Hawaii gift” but oh so yummy!

Leave a Reply

