I really admire this woman

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/brooke-birmingham/why-i-refused-to-put-a-shirt-on_b_5274348.html?ncid=fcbklnkushpmg00000063

I’ve been participating in the 100+ lbs to lose board on weightwatchers.com for years.  One thing that I learned from that being there is loose skin in is a fact of life.

In fact, I never even thought to worry about loose skin before someone brought it up.

I’ve been obese for a long time.  The chances of my skin tightening up when I get to a healthy weight are slim to none.  I don’t want to have skin removal surgery unless it becomes medically necessary.

I think that this article and image is really good for people to see.  This woman should be proud of her body!!!

I’m not a fan of shows like biggest loser because I think that the show gives unrealistic expectations of weight loss.  I also think that only showing perfect body bikini pictures or pictures of people with their shirt on gives an unrealistic expectation as well.

Asking that woman to put her shirt on is just hiding the fact that you might have loose skin when you are at a healthy weight.

I don’t know if I would ever feel comfortable wearing a bikini like this woman, but I applaud those who do.  If I can get my thigh fat/skin jiggle out there, why not my belly as well?

From the posts I’ve seen on the weight watchers board, I think that more people need to see pictures like this to know that this is still beautiful!  Loose skin is not something to be afraid or ashamed of!

I can only aspire to have 1/2 the confidence of this woman when I reach my goal weight.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in loose skin, weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I really admire this woman

  1. The loose skin conversations on the 100 lb message board were always entertaining. 🙂 It’s a real concern for people but you have to get in the mindset that yes, loose skin happens, but you’re healthier and that’s more important. I don’t know that I’ll ever get to a “loose skin is beautiful” mindset enough that I could wear a bikini, but I generally accept my loose skin for what it is – a side effect of a healthier life.

    • nancykerins says:

      Oh I totally see what you are saying and when I say that “this is still beautiful”, I mean you can still be beautiful and have loose skin. I don’t know if there is anyone who will look at it and say, “I want that”.

      I agree that I don’t know if I’ll ever love my loose skin or be able to wear a bikini.

      I have gotten to the “loose skin acceptance” point though were I would rather have it than be obese.

      So many people freak out over it and use to it stay obese that I want to see more confident women out there that say, “Yes I have loose skin and it’s ok”.

Leave a Reply

