Some quotes I want to share from the book I’m reading.

I finished Chapter 6 of Eat What You Love, Love What You Eat for Binge Eating: Mindful Eating Program for Healing Your Relationship with Food & Your Body and I wanted to share some of the areas that I’ve highlighted in the book so far.

Part of the reason that I’m typing these out is for me to reread and to help it sink in.  I might even have to bring these out on paper and read them over and over again.

  • Diets can also create fear of not having enough points or calories left when you get hungry.
  • Wanting to eat isn’t the same as needing to eat
  • If you find yourself rationalizing or justifying “It’s been three hours since lunch so I should be hungry”, you may be looking for a reason to eat.
  • Harsh and judgmental attitudes towards yourself ultimately drive your overeating and binge eating cycles.
  • You don’t have to like every part of your body to respect it.
  • Preventative eating is something a response to a fear of hunger. To combat this fear, assure yourself that you’ll usually be able to eat when you are hungry.
  • Remember, whenever you have an urge to eat, ask yourself “Am I hungry?”. We didn’t say, “If you aren’t hungry, you’re not allowed to eat.” If we did, that would be as restrictive as dieting. When you feel like eating even though you’re not hungry, instead of automatically reaching for food, make a conscious choice about whether you will eat anyway, redirect your attention, or meet your needs.
  • You are not powerless.
  • “When I’m hungry, I’ll eat what I love, when I’m bored, I’ll do something I love”. 
  • When a craving doesn’t come from hunger, eating will never satisfy it. 
  • Enjoying food is only a problem if it’s your primary source of pleasure.
  • The key to eliminating guilt is to give yourself unconditional permission to eat any food.
  • As you learn to eat mindfully again, you no longer have to be in control. You have to be in charge.
  • Depriving yourself of certain foods give them power over you; in fact, it causes the strong cravings in the first place. 
  • Remember, you have a choice.

A lot of this is scary to me because it means that I have to learn to trust myself.  Right now, I don’t.

I want to give myself permission to eat a piece of chocolate if I feel like it, but how do I stop eating it once I do make that decision?

One good thing is I know that I’m on my way.

Sunday, I went to dinner at my sister and brother-in-law’s house to celebrate Yom Ha-Atzmaut (Israel’s Independence Day).  My brother-in-law made amazing kebobs and cous cous and my sister made an Israeli flag cake.

I’m glad that I’m at the point where I can eat those items at a family gathering and not feel guilty or bad.  I’m actually happy that I ate those things in moderation with my family and didn’t feel like I had to restrict myself.

One of the examples in the book does describe how giving yourself permission to have the choice, doesn’t mean that you have to have it at your ready at all times and I think that is going to be the decision for me.

Currently, it’s very hard for me to have many desert or snack items in the house.  I think, for right now at least, my choice has to be that I have permission to eat them, but not buy them to store in the house.

I can have an ice cream whenever I want.  I choose to only have it when I go out for ice cream.

I’m looking for that freedom and balance that I can get from this.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some quotes I want to share from the book I’m reading.

  1. I LOVE “When I’m hungry, I’ll eat what I love. When I’m bored, I’ll do what I love.” So much of eating comes from boredom! I need to keep this in mind.

  2. nancykerins says:

    I’m trying to make it my new mantra. Hopefully the more I ready, say, type it, the more it will sink in.

  3. leannenalani says:

    Great thoughts and reflections. It’s comforting and reassuring to know that you can have the foods you love and don’t have to cut anything out cold turkey.

Leave a Reply

