I think I have a new favorite recipe

Last week I ordered a set of Zumba DVDs and the set also came with a “nutritional guide”.  I have to admit that I’m often skeptical of this nutrition programs, but you never know when you’ll get a good recipe out of it.

I have to say that after reading through it, I’m quite impressed with the program that they advertise.  It seems quite healthy at least.

One thing that I do like about these types of “nutrition guide”/recipe books is often a lot of the recipes are single serving and easy to throw together.

I tried their “Charming Cherry Quinoa” for dinner tonight.

 

2oz chicken breast
1/2 cup cooked quinoa
1 TBSP pistachios
2 TBSP dried cherries
1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tsp balsamic vinegar

Put the chicken in a pot and cover with water.  Bring water to a boil then lower the heat so the water is just barely simmering.  Let the chicken cook for 5 minutes.  Turn off the heat and cover the pot.  Let the chicken sit in hot water for about 10 minutes or until cooked through.  Remove chicken from water and blot off any excess water.  Combine the remaining ingredients in a bowl and add salt and pepper to taste.  

I made a couple of substitutions.  I prefer chicken thighs and I already had sliced almonds in the house.  I decided to add sauteed spinach to it and grilled my chicken.

This recipe tasted amazing and was super filling. 

 

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I think I have a new favorite recipe

  1. That really did seem to be calling out for some spinach! Glad you found a recipe you liked in such an unusual place. 🙂 I’m like you – very skeptical of the “food plans” that come with most workout kits.

  2. nancykerins says:

    Oh totally skeptical. If I didn’t go and already enjoy Zumba classes, there is no way I would have bought some of the DVDs. The fact that there is an infomercial for them that is in pretty constantly is a big turn off for me.

  3. nancykerins says:

    And agree that the recipe needed more veggie, but the base was a good start. I’ll probably have it for dinner again sometime this week.

  4. leannenalani says:

    Um. Yummmm! Funny thing how I always set aside the recipes and nutrition plan stuff from Zumba. Why oh why did I not even bother to look at the recipes? That one sounds pretty amazing. Dried cherries are one of my favorite foods.

Leave a Reply

