I did it! 5 whole days of journaling!

I know that you can’t hear the written word, but there is a little bit of sarcasm to that title.

At least that is the way it sounds in my head.

I’m glad that I made it though because even though it doesn’t sound like a lot, 5 days of writing down my food is huge.

I went to therapy yesterday and talked a lot about this goal.  One thing that I want to be different with my goal of writing down my food this time around is I want it to be just writing it down.

Yes, of course I want to stay under my calories, but the goal right now isn’t that, it’s just to write down what I eat.  That is a huge change because in the past I would only write down my food if I was perfect and under my calories.

So I’ve reached my goal of 5 days in a row, so it means that it’s time for me to set a new goal and add on 5 more days.

Another thing that I changed today is to have my fitbit automatically post my daily results here.  You can see my profile by going to https://www.fitbit.com/user/2GWQZV.

I’ve only been using the fitbit for a couple of days, but I’m liking it so far.  It’s really interesting to see my sleep patterns, steps taken, etc.

In therapy yesterday I talked a lot about my fears and how I’m afraid that I’m going to fail again.  Sometimes I think “why bother, I’m not going to be able to do it”.

It’s a constant battle inside of me.

I’m working on staying positive though and not letting changes derail me.

I bought one of the Zumba Wii games for when I can’t get to the gym or for when I can, but there is no classes I want to take.  I tried it last night and it was a lot of fun.

Today, I couldn’t make it to my Dance Mania class because of conflicts with my son’s schedule.  The night thing was, during one of the activities, I didn’t have to stay so I took advantage and got my exercise in by going for a walk.

I did learn something from that walk.  Zumba sneakers are NOT good walking sneakers!  I actually have blisters on my heels!

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I did it! 5 whole days of journaling!

  1. leannenalani says:

    Congrats on your 5 days – It sounds like good progress! Which Zumba for Wii did you get?

    • nancykerins says:

      I got two for the wii actually. Zumba Fitness World Party and Zumba Fitness 2. I’m actually looking forward to using them again. Tonight though, is real Zumba class!

      • leannenalani says:

        Have fun tonight! I really love all the Zumba games. I think Zumba 2 is the same as Zumba Rush which is one of my ultimate favorites, but Zumba World Party is so awesome too. Limbo is my favorite song on that one.

Leave a Reply

