Today is an important day

Not because I might finish a goal, but because it’s the day after overeating.

If I’m going to break some of my poor cycles and bad habits, then days like this are going to become more and more important.

Diet mentality is so hard to break.  

I didn’t “mess up” yesterday.  I CHOSE what to eat.

Let me repeat that again.

I CHOSE what to eat.

Reading Eat What You Love, Love What You Eat for Binge Eating: Mindful Eating Program for Healing Your Relationship with Food & Your Body is really helping.

I’m on Chapter 3 and this quote really stuck with me:

“Remember, whenever you have an urge to eat, ask yourself, “Am I hungry?” We didn’t say, “If you aren’t hungry, you’re not allowed to eat”. If we did, that would be as restrictive as dieting. When you want to eat (or keep eating) even though you aren’t hungry, you get to decide what you’ll do next.”

The book gives you 3 options and advantages and disadvantages to each option.

Option 1: Eat Anyway
Option 2: Redirect your Attention
Option 3: Meet Your True Needs

I kind of love that Option 1 is eat anyway.  It feels realistic.  The book doesn’t make me feel abnormal if that is the choice I make.

Back to why today is important.

Today is important because this is normally when I give up, say F it and just go back to eating whatever.  I messed up yesterday so why should I bother today?

It’s a struggle, but I’m working on it.

I have a plan and I’m determined to work through it today.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today is an important day

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Lots of new beginnings! | A Little More Each Day

  2. This is so awesome! Congrats – this is definitely a great victory!!

Leave a Reply

