So far so good

I find the first couple of days of trying to get back into a healthy eating routine to be the easiest and the hardest.

It’s hard because change is hard and it would just be easier to just start tomorrow, next week, next month, next lifetime, etc. right?

It’s easy because motivation is at it’s highest.  It’s a honeymoon period.  Getting past that honeymoon period has always been part of my issue.

What I always like to recognize at this point is that I have made small changes over the years and even though I always want to think “this time will be different”, I need to remember that it’s not a “this time” thing.  In some ways, I’ve never stopped trying.  It’s always on my mind.  This is just a continuation and another part of my journey.

So far I have written down all of my food that I’ve eaten so far.  Even the Easter chocolate that I mindlessly ate on Monday afternoon and the mojito I had last night.  One of my first goals is to journal 5 days in a row and I’m on day #3.

I do want to continue to have the goal of reading at least one chapter of Eat What You Love, Love What You Eat for Binge Eating: Mindful Eating Program for Healing Your Relationship with Food & Your Body a day.  I read my chapter on Monday, but never had a chance to read yesterday.

On a fun note, I didn’t get a chance to read yesterday because I went roller skating with a friend last night and didn’t get home until late.  I haven’t been roller skating since my college days and I was very proud that I only fell on my ass once.  It was generally a lot of fun although I will admit that I got bored going around and around in circles after about an hour.  They played good music and perhaps if I keep going and get better balance and can dance along like when I was younger, it would be more fun to me.

If I have time today, I’ll read two chapters to make up for the missed chapter last night.  If not, it’s ok too.  I’m trying to learn to not be “all or nothing”.

One of the reasons that I want to have this as my goal though is I’m very good at buying weight loss books, I’m not really good at reading/finishing them.

Like most people, I don’t have a lot of time to read and when I do I usually want to get lost in some sort of fiction.  By setting this goal, I remind myself to read for other reasons too.

 

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So far so good

  1. Glad you’re back to blogging! It’s good to give yourself credit for the changes you’ve made and are keeping. We are always a work in progress. Congrats on keeping with the tracking for 3 days so far!!

Leave a Reply

