Setting goals again.

One thing that I’ve always found helpful and overwhelming at the same time are weight loss related goals.

When I can focus on the small, short term goals, things tend to go really well.

When I don’t focus on get too focused on the big picture, that is when everything just goes to hell.

So even though I have anxiety this morning and I’m feeling a bit on the shaky side about all of this, I need to set a short term goal.

I’m actually going to set three goals:

  1. Log all of my food for the next 5 days. (very short term)
  2. Weigh 249 or less
  3. Read one chapter of Eat What You Love, Love What You Eat for Binge Eating: Mindful Eating Program for Healing Your Relationship with Food & Your Body a day.

I’m lucky that exercise is already a major part of my routine no matter how I’m eating so I don’t feel the need to set an exercise goal.

With food logging, I want to focus on just getting started and then adding days on to my goal as I go along.  With weight loss, I want to focus on 10lbs at a time.

Just writing this post is bringing up some emotions and I need to face those and keep going.

 

 

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

