Last night I made a conscious decision to go off plan.

I did it for my own benefit. It was the “break fast” dinner from Yom Kippur and all day I was already feeling deprived and bad about bringing my own food. I know myself well enough that when those feelings are happening, I need to be careful because that can easily lead to a binge.

So I decided that I would eat what what served at “break fast”, but not overeat. That means that I did have a little bit of dairy, gluten and sugar last night at dinner.

I don’t consider it a “cheat”, I consider it a “choice”.

What felt good was I took a small piece of the things that I love that I only eat once a year at this meal. I didn’t gorge, binge or overdo it.

This morning I am back on plan.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last night I made a conscious decision to go off plan.

  1. Good for you for knowing yourself well enough to control the situation. That is absolutely not a cheat – it is real life.

Leave a Reply

