Back from a busy summer!

It’s been a while since I’ve written.  I didn’t even realize how long it’s been until I logged it.

It was a BUSY summer.  One of those times where work is hectic and every weekend has something planned.

I’ve had a lot of issues getting back into a healthy way of eating, I gained back 20lbs in one year and I need to put that to an end.

It hasn’t been for lack of trying and working at it.  It never leaves my mind.  It actually gets very overwhelming at times and I haven’t felt like I can do it.

I ended up switching my anti-depressant, which has helped a lot.  I think I baselined on the celexa and it just wasn’t doing much for me anymore.

Exercise I’ve slacked a bit on too, but haven’t given up on.  Just need to get back to at least 4 times a week.

I did do the Shape Diva Dash on Saturday though and am very proud and frustrated with myself when it comes to it.

I’m proud because I did it and finished it.  I only skipped one obstacle due to my fear of heights.  Then the next one was even higher and I did it anyway.

I’m frustrated because I couldn’t do much running between obstacles.  Between the weight gain and lack of training, I know I could have been more prepared.

I know I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, but I can’t help it.  

One thing that I discussed with my therapist that I completely agree with is I just need to keep trying new things and finding what works.

I joined a program through my old personal trainer’s gym called the BeFit 30 Day Fat Loss Program.

When you read it, it does sound like another gimmic diet program, but in doing my research and knowing friends that have done it, I knew it was a healthy program.

What I like about it is it’s a temporary restriction that helps you “detox”.  Very similar to the first two weeks of South Beach Diet.

The first two weeks are only protein, non-starchy veggies and healthy fats (olive oil, avocado, etc.).  On day 15 you have a “cheat” meal.

I don’t like the word “cheat”, but what I do like is the program follows what I like to call the 80/20 rule.  You eat healthy the majority of the time, but allow yourself a meal not to think about it and have what you are craving.

Then you add a serving of fresh fruit back in.

Then the next week you add some healthy grains/starches (squash, sweet potato, quinoa, etc.). 

Then some dairy.

I have to admit that going without the dairy is going to be the hardest on me.  I’m such a yogurt eater.

No sugar, no gluten, not dairy is going to be hard, but worth it.

I’m going to try to blog at least daily during this experience.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back from a busy summer!

  1. Good for you for going out to do the Diva Dash despite things falling off course a bit over the summer! I’m intimidated by all of the obstacles, so definitely impressed that you tackled those! – Jessica

    • nancykerins says:

      Don’t be intimidated and sign up next year! A lot of the obstacles have options and you can even skip them if you need to. I skipped one that freaked me out because of the heights.

  2. NWHiker says:

    It’s so good to see you back!

Leave a Reply

