Small tests of change

In my job, we go through PDSA cycles.

Plan

Do

Study

Act

In that cycle, you do a small test of change and then decide if that changed worked or didn’t.

I often apply this concept to my personal life, but in general not to my weight loss.

When I examine my past (and present) efforts, one thing is usually evident to me:

I try to change everything at once and when I’m not perfect, I give up.

That needs to stop.

What I need to focus on is making those small tests of change.  When I think about it, most successful programs are like that.

Look at Couch to 5K.  Small tests of change.  Each week add on something more/different.  That is why it works.

Even thinking about it and writing this, I’m freaking out thinking, “but if I don’t do A + B + C + D all at once, I won’t lose weight”.

It’s amazing the anxiety and the emotions that it stirs up.

PDSA needs to be my new mantra.

Plan – Journal food for 5 days straight

Do – Journal every bite I eat

Study – Did scale move?

Act – Continue journaling food.  Set new goal of 5 – 10 days.

If I can keep doing this and stop freaking out every time I’m not perfect, maybe I’ll start losing weight again.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

