It’s time to start the Couch to 5K again!!

I haven’t given up on my goal of running a 5K.

I started working towards this goal last September and was doing well until I got pneumonia in the late fall.  That set me back and while and it took me a bit to get my lungs feeling better.

Then it was winter.  I have to admit, I’m not the biggest fan of running inside.  When I run outside, I feel good.  When I run inside, I’m just trying to get it over with.

I’m listening to the same music both times, but something about being inside on a treadmill with no scenery change just doesn’t do it for me.

I’ve been feeling better for a couple of months now and I decided that if I didn’t sign up for and set a goal race, then I would never start training regularly again.

So I signed up for two:

Both are pretty flat runs and should be good for my first couple of 5Ks.  (The AIDS run is a fundraiser so if you feel like making a donation, you can click on the link to do so).

You can also find me and look at my progress by going to:  http://trainer.active.com/people/Nancy_Kerins#activity

 

Running a 5K is something that I’m very excited about and will be a huge accomplishment for me.

I did my first training session yesterday before my Dance Mania class.  I started completely from scratch with the Week 1, Day 1 training program of 5 minute warm up, run 1 minute, walk 1 1/2 minutes, repeat many times, 5 minute cool down.

I did seem to keep some of my cardio endurance from last time as I was able to do the one minute runs (the very first time last September, I could barely make it through the minute and had to repeat Week 1).

Today is a TRX day so I’m hoping I’m not too sore tomorrow as I would like to run tomorrow.

My plan is to do Couch to 5K three times a week along with TRX and Zumba mixed in.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

