The show “Biggest Loser” makes me want to throat punch someone

I have to admit that I don’t get why people find this show “inspirational”.

I do appreciate that the show does help people who need help.

It’s a game show though.  It’s there for drama and entertainment.

Many of us who have weight to lose would be successful in the same situation.  If I didn’t have to work, had a personal training to chase me and lived with other people in the same situation, I could see where I would lose a lot of weight quickly.

It’s like televised weight loss camp.

The concept of the show bothers me when it comes to the attitude of weight loss.  EVERY loss should be a victory.  I get that these people work hard and exercise all day, but our bodies don’t “reward” us for “good behavior” by dropping X number of pounds.

I was flipping through stations last night though and landed on the weigh ins.

The red team was weighing in and many of them “only lost 2 pounds” and were extremely upset at themselves.

I did like the coach’s attitude as he did say he was still proud of them, but he shouldn’t have to say he was still proud!  He should be proud no matter what that they are losing and are getting healthier!

OK, I get that this a competition and that they are in an unrealistic situation of exercise and lifestyle, but I just cannot accept the attitude of 2 pounds not being a good loss!!!!

In the online forums that I post in, I constantly see people posting about how their loss wasn’t big enough for the work that they did.  I think shows like Biggest Loser don’t help that attitude.

I also can’t stand that the contestants get all “I can’t do this without the show”.   OK contestant, you are temporarily in a unrealistic situation to help with your weight loss, if you can’t do this without the show, how do you expect to maintain your loss after your season is over?

Do you think that you are magically going to change just because you lost weight on TV and it’s never going to come back?

Then one of them loses like 9 pounds and tells her coach, Jillian (the only one I know the name of), to basically shove it.  Ummm, without Jillian chasing you down and hounding you, do you really think you would have lost that weight?

I just can’t be inspired by all of this.  It makes me angry (if you can’t tell by this ranting post).  I don’t like the unrealistic expectations the public gets about weight loss.

I just need to avoid the show all together.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

