Beginner TRX today

Ok, I can barely type right now.  Can I just say “ow”?????

It’s a good “ow”, but it’s an “ow”.

Back before the evil pneumonia that took me out of commission for so long, I had signed up for TRX at the Y and to take a beginner TRX class at Yoga Sakti.

I decided to do the same now that I’m feeling better.

I do have to admit that I’m not fully back yet.  My cardio endurance is completely shot.  Things seem harder still.  There is only one way to get that cardio endurance back though.

I found that an issue during TRX.  I was sweating during the warm up, never mind during the exercises.

I also know that thanks to me blowing off strength training for nearly 5 years now (I used to train with a trainer for years), my muscle mass is not as good as it used to be.

TRX uses suspension and your own body weight.  I always found using my own body weight interesting as I weigh more now so I would think it would be a little more difficult than if I tried this when weighing less.  I could be wrong, but that is what makes sense to my brain.

I really liked that the class could be highly individualized.  By stepping forward/back you could make things harder/easier.  Each interval of exercise was 40 seconds and it was to do at your own pace making sure to keep proper form.

There were a couple of things that I had to stop before the 40 seconds were up just because my heart rate or breathing was getting to high.  My left hand kept cramping too.  I tend to hold on too tight.

It was difficult to just let my body weight be supported by the ties that are attached to the ceiling.  Not just difficult, but scary.  I was afraid it wouldn’t hold me.

I can tell I’m going to be sore.  REALLY sore.

Hopefully I’ll be recovered enough by my class at the Y on Wednesday.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

