Yoga Weight Loss Hypnotherapy Day 1

I ran late.

I never used to be that person, but somehow I have become someone who runs late.

Well late for me at least which means not being 10 minutes early and running into the class right as it’s starting.

The instructor had all of the mats and props all set us for us.  I guess I didn’t need to spend that time finding my mat (which was one of the things that made me run late).  Including me, there were about 8 people in the class.

I did (of course) notice that I was the heaviest person there.  It’s all a matter of perspective though.  I might see a lot of these people and think that they don’t need to lose weight, but also, who am I to judge that?  Good for them if they have a small amount to lose and are nipping it before it gets to be some major weight issue.

She explained a lot about hypnosis.  How it’s consensual.  It’s taking to the subconscious, not the conscious  mind.   How she wasn’t in control of us.

We did a little bit of yoga to start off and then talked about finding the trigger that causes us to overeat and then working on what to do when we do that trigger.  She also wanted to know the types of foods that we like to overeat so when she was speaking to the subconscious mind, she would know what to focus on.

When she was ready to start the hypnotherapy/meditation part, she had us all lay down on our mats and get into a comfortable position.  She had given us each these super comfy blankets.

She counted down from 20 and for each number, we opened our eyes and closed our eyes until our eyes felt too heavy to open again.  She placed eye pillows (if you wanted it) over each of our eyes.

I remember her talking, but I don’t remember a lot of it.  From what she has told us, that is a good thing as then she wasn’t talking to our conscious mind, but our subconscious mind.  There were times that I felt I was drifting off to sleep.

When she brought us out, it felt like only a few minutes, but it had been 40 minutes!

She told us how one of us did fall asleep and was snoring, but was still listening with their subconscious mind because when she asked us all to wiggle our toes, the person did do it.

I felt very zen and well rested when it was over.  I had to meet my sister for wedding dress shopping and I had to get a coffee to wake me up!

After the class, my only thoughts about food were how I wasn’t really thinking about food.  I know it sounds funny, but normally I’m always thinking about what my next meal is going to be, what I should have, what I could be eating, etc.

I’m hosting a party at my house tonight and I wasn’t even thinking about what to serve.

She gave us each journals to write in.  Not to food journal, but to write down feelings, triggers, etc.

I’m not so great with a pen and paper, so I will probably use this blog to write those things (which I already pretty much do).

I’m looking forward to next week and the next session as well as seeing how I feel this week and if I feel any different.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

