Time to try something new again

Weight loss is hard.

There is no easy fix.

Food is not really the issue.

For me, getting in exercise is not an issue.

For me, it’s all about getting my brain in the right space and getting it there on a more permanent basis.

To get to this goal, I’m willing to try almost anything.

I do go to therapy on a weekly basis and have for years.  Has this “fixed” me?  No.  Has it helped me make small changes along the way?  Yes.

Before therapy:
I rarely ate vegetables
Never exercised on a consistent basis
Binged at least on a weekly basis
Had major diet mentality
Thought if I wasn’t perfect I might as well not try

Some of those things I still struggle with.  When it comes to eating, I would like to make it to “80/20”.  Accepting that 20% of the time, I might not make the best choices, journal my food, etc.  It’s part of getting rid of my “all or nothing, if I’m not perfect I might as well not try” attitude.

A week is not “blown” by one bad meal, right?  Not even a day is “blown” by one bad meal.

I’ve been blowing off the mental part of my weight loss journey for a while.  I haven’t been paying attention to myself.  I haven’t wanted to deal with it.  I just want to go home, read a book or watch some TV and sleep.

I go to Yoga Sakti in Salem (unfortunately I don’t like the yoga classes at the Y I belong to).

They are having a seminar called Weight Loss Hypnotherapy starting tomorrow.

It advertises:

6 Week Restortaive Hypotherapy Sesions Include:
Gentle and Restorative Yoga
Meditation
Training in Self Hypnosis
Hypnosis

It’s time to break the cycle. Learn new ways of relating to food and your body, so you can optimize your full potential.

The meditation part reminds me a lot of the work we did in the 12 week post op program.  Combining that with some yoga and some hypnosis interests me.

When I was looking for quick fixes, I always wondered about hypnosis.  Could it really work?  I know at my hospital, they offer hypnosis for people trying to quick smoking, so why not for weight loss?

If anything, for the next 6 Saturdays, I will be forced to think about my weight loss efforts during the class.

I don’t think this class is a quick fix or going to fix me.

I’ve made so many small changes for the good over the years that if it even helps push me in the right direction of making yet another small change, then it’s worth it.

Also, I’m going to try to write more.  When I’m not paying attention to myself, I don’t write and writing is definitely helpful to the mental part of my journey.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

