Happy New Year (a couple of days late)

It’s funny how January/New Year’s always inspires us to begin again.

For a lot of the stuff I haven’t been doing, it hasn’t been by choice, but I’m still starting fresh.

It’s been so long since I got sick and couldn’t exercise that I decided to start over on my Couch to 5K plan.  My gym bag is packed and tonight I’m doing week 1 day 1.

I need to do more strength training in general.  So I’m adding strength training to my 2013 goals (as I said before, I don’t do resolutions).

So now my goals are:

1.  Exercise an average of 4 times a week (I say average because sometimes life just gets in the way), strength training will be at least 2 times.

2. Run in at least one 5K

3. Reach 100lbs gone (Reached 90lbs gone in 2012.  I don’t like to set scale number goals, but I feel like this one is reasonable).

4. Avoid take out food Sunday – Thursday

I’m taking TRX starting next Wednesday so that means I only have to do strength training one other time per week in order to meet my goal.

I’ve had a cold since right before the holidays.  It’s been frustrating that as soon as I got clearance from my pneumonia, I got a cold and couldn’t breathe enough to exercise!

I’m still a teeny bit stuffy, but I think I’m good enough to do the first day of Couch to 5K.

I want to start planning out my exercise weekly.  Looking at the calendar in advance and seeing what I need to adjust (instead of flying by the seat of my pants).

I always have a basic schedule on my calendar, but it would be good to plan on Sunday nights and see what “options” I’m going to do for the current week.

For the rest of this week:

Tonight – Couch to 5K Day 1 Week 1
Tomorrow – Yoga
Saturday – Dance Mania

Sunday I’m signed up at Yoga Sakti to take a beginner TRX class.  I figured that since I’m starting to do it regularly on Wednesday nights and I didn’t have time to go to the Y’s class, I would pay to go to that one and see how it goes.

Eating wise I need to start planning better as well.

It’s winter and I should take advantage of my crockpot (it does always seem like a “winter” thing) and just make something on Sundays for the rest of the week’s lunch.

I always get so over complicated for dinners.  I need to remember that just having some stir fry ingredients in the house takes 2 seconds to make and then is just as good.

Of course the diet mentality brain in me always finds this part easier in January and not in June.

Why is it so hard to make a change on a Wednesday or a Thursday?  Why does the change always have to start on a Sunday or a Monday?

I work so hard with my therapist to beat out that diet mentality out of my brain, but it’s always so difficult.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

