Ok, this time I’m really cleared for exercise…

A lot has gone on since my last post.

I got cleared to exercise and then found out that my lungs were not ready/clear and what I was told that day was incorrect.

In between I did get to run twice and my lungs did BURN at first, but I thought that had been the lack of exercise for the last month.

When I saw my PCP, I found out that I still had fluid in my lungs and ended up having to have a Cat Scan of my lungs.

Everything turned out ok, but that was another week and a half of not exercising/running.

I finally got cleared on 12/14, but by that time I had given up on doing the 5K on 12/16.

I could have still walked it, but I decided not to.

In the meantime, I have gotten a head cold and can no longer breathe through my nose.

I have to say that I’m pretty annoyed about this whole thing at this point.  I’m not usually one to get sick a lot so it really sucks.

One thing that really irks me about this whole thing is by the time I can start Couch to 5K and exercise in general again, it will probably be January.

I HATE the gym in January and I do not want to fell like a “resolutioner”.  It’s so overcrowded with all of those people that all of a sudden go “well it’s January, I should exercise now”.

I know that there will be a small portion of people that stick around, but for those of us who are “regulars”, it almost feels like an invasion.

I am giving TRX a try again.  Maybe this time I’ll be able to go to the class (last time I signed up was right before the pneumonia).

I’m looking forward to trying something new as well as getting in more regular strength training.  I’m really good about cardio, but I really suck at getting strength training in.

Since the Couch to 5K is a 1/2 hour, I’m hoping that on Wednesday I can do that for a 1/2 hour and then go to TRX at 6:30 PM.  Then I only have to find 2 other days in the week for C25K.

Once I start training again, I would like to find a 5K in April or May to sign up for and work towards.

I am signed up for the Shape Diva Dash in September.  It’s a women’s only 5K and obstacle course.  It looks like a lot of fun and as of right now I have 3 other women signed up with me.

Eating wise things have been just ok.  You would think with all of the free time I have from not exercising that would give me more time to get organized, cook, eat healthy, etc.

My problem is often boredom eating though.  The more I sit around, the more I eat.

The surgery is still helping because I can’t eat in large portions, but grazing can be a problem as well.

I have gained about 5lbs back and I’m watching it really carefully.  

I’m glad the holidays are over because there was just food everywhere at all times!

I don’t like to make “resolutions”, but I do want to set some goals for 2013:

1.  Exercise an average of 4 times a week (I say average because sometimes life just gets in the way)

2. Run in at least one 5K

3. Reach 100lbs gone (Reached 90lbs gone in 2012.  I don’t like to set scale number goals, but I feel like this one is reasonable).

4. Avoid take out food Sunday – Thursday

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

