So running is now on hold…

I had someone comment to me about my blog today and it reminded me that I haven’t written about the week of October 29th yet.

On October 29th, I went home from work early due to Hurricane Sandy coming our way.  I hadn’t run in a couple of days at that point as I felt a sinus infection coming on and I was a little congested.

Sandy came and went and we were lucky here in MA.  We did lose power overnight, but it came back by 4 AM.

Tuesday morning, I “wake” up to my alarm and I just cannot get out of bed.  I ask my husband to help with our son, email my work to tell them I’m out sick and then go back to bed.

I slept all day.  I was FREEZING.  I woke up enough to take my temp and some tylenol and then would just go back to sleep.

The next day I still had a fever, so I called the doc.  The second I saw my pulse/ox was low and my blood pressure was low, I had a bad feeling.  The last time I had fever, a pulse/ox of 92% and low blood pressure, I had pneumonia.

The doc listens to my chest and hears something, so I go to have a chest x-ray.  Of course it came back positive.

I was incredibly frustrated.

I went home, had my prescription filled for my antibiotics and called out sick for the rest of the week.

I’m not allowed to exercise at all until I get my next chest x-ray on November 26th and see my PCP on November 29th.

The race I’m signed up for is December 16th.  I was hoping to run the whole thing, but I have decided since it is a “fun run” and there will be walkers, that I’m going to run as much as I can and walk the rest.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

