Catching up on my running

October has not been a good month for my running program.  Life has definitely gotten in the way.

I am going to be hosting a wedding shower at my house and I needed to focus on decluttering.  My house had gotten out of control.  I talked to my husband about hiring a cleaning lady.  I’ve been trying to do it all.  

Between work, home, taking care of child, housework, exercising, cooking, journaling, etc. I’ve just felt overwhelmed.

This weekend helped at least.  My husband was away and my son was at my mother in law’s.  I got a chance to spend the entire weekend decluttering and reorganizing the house.  It has helped my stress so much.  I donated and got rid of so much stuff.

My cleaning lady starts tomorrow morning.

Saturday I did my couch to 5K training for the first time in a week and a half.   It felt really good to go.  I ran on the treadmill and was able to get through most of it.

Right now I’m on 5 minute warm up, run 3 minutes, walk 1 1/2 minutes, run 5 minutes, walk 2 1/2, repeat and then cool down 5 minutes.

I can get through the first set of run 3 minutes, walk, run 5 minutes.  I can’t get through the second 5 minute run then.  By that time, I’m too tired and I’m lucky if I get through 3 out of the 5 minutes.

It doesn’t help that I haven’t been on schedule either.

This morning I ran outside for the first time in a long time.  I wasn’t sure how it was going to go as running on the treadmill is often easier than running outside.    I was able to do the same thing as on the treadmill.  I get through the 3 minute, 5 minute and 3 minute and then I got through 3 1/2 minutes of the 5 before I just couldn’t go anymore.  

I have to admit that I’m not sure if I like running yet.   I might still be feeling overwhelmed in general, but I can’t imagine how I’m ever going to run for 1 mile straight, never mind 3 miles straight.  

I did make a decision that I don’t care if I can run the whole 5k by the time the Jingle Bell run comes around. It takes some of the stress off.  

My plan for the rest of the week:

Tuesday – Zumba
Wednesday – Couch to 5K
Thursday – rest
Friday – Couch to 5K
Saturday – Zumba
 

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

