It had been 8 days since my last run…

It’s amazing how quickly you can get out of something…

Between the Jewish holidays and going to Kripalu, I hadn’t run for 8 days.

I had debated running Tuesday night, but I felt like doing Zumba more and even that I had to force myself to go.

Then yesterday, when I was leaving work, I was feeling a strange pain in my right side and started to get worried if I should run or not.  It was one of those times when you think to yourself, “Is my appendix about to burst or am I just constipated?”.

By the time I got home though and changed into my workout gear I felt good enough to go.

I went to the Y to run since it was raining and I have no urge to run in the rain. 

I decided to start working on week 4.

Week 4 involves 5 minute warm up, run for 3 minutes, walk for a minute and a half, run for 5 minutes, walk for 2 minutes, repeat, 5 minute cool down.

I made it through the 3 minute run with no problem and then started stressing about the 5 minute run.

It’s amazing, I made it through the 5 minute run!  I know the nice, flat treadmill helped, but I did it!  I couldn’t believe it.

When I did the second interval, it was a little harder.  The 3 minute run was a little harder on me, but I did it.  I made it through 3 minutes of the second 5 before I had to walk.

I think that considering I hadn’t run in a little over a week, I did great.  I felt really good and accomplished when I was done.  I’m just going to keep repeating the week 4 workout until I can do the whole thing.

Next run: Friday morning.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

