Moved on to the Week 2 of the Couch to 5K program

I did it and I didn’t feel like I was going to die!

Week 2 involves a 5 minutes walking warm up and then intervals of 90 seconds running and then 120 seconds walking.  

I was able to do all of the 90 minute runs and most of the time I would be able to get through without checking the time.  It was definitely harder, but not as hard as my first day when I had never run before.

One thing that I’m definitely working on is trying to slow my running pace.  I’m trying to build up running endurance and sometimes I definitely run too fast and then tire myself out.

I’m definitely feeling better about this whole thing.  It’s hard for me to imagine running for 3 miles straight.

I did sign up for my first 5K today.  I’m going to do the Somerville Jingle Bell Run on December 16th.

I was originally going to do a different race, but of all things my mother wants to be there for my first race so I had to pick one that she would be in town for.  I think it’s really sweet that they want to support me like that.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

