Couch to 5K Day 6

I decided to do my Couch to 5K walk/run after Zumba tonight at the gym.

I have to admit that I was nervous.  Treadmills always freaked me out when I was walking on them.  I always felt like I was going to fall off the end.

It’s amazing the anxiety I felt during that 5 minute warm up until I got to the first run.  When I say I was nervous, I wasn’t exaggerating.  

I was doing a brisk walk at 3.5 on the treadmill and then bumped it up to 4.3 for my first run.  That 60 seconds was easy.  Second run, I bumped it up a little more.  A couple of runs in, I settled in at 5.0 for my runs.

5.0 is slower than when I run on the road, but I think that is part of my problem.  I don’t run slow enough for now.

I want to work on getting my endurance and then I can work on increasing my speed.

After the first run, all of the anxiety went away and I got more and more confidence with each run.  For the first time, I didn’t feel like I was going to fall off.

The treadmill was definitely easier than the road (exactly as I had heard).  My last run, I ran for 90 seconds instead of 60 just to see if I could do it.

I feel like I’m definitely ready to move on to the week 2 of Couch to 5K.

I am debating whether or not to do my next work out on the road or on the treadmill.  

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

