Days 4 and 5 of Couch to 5K

Friday night I decided to run along Swampscott/Lynn beach and it was a beautiful place to do it.  I’m liking doing my training outside as I know that is where the races will be and it’s just nice to be out in the fresh air.  Some of the 60 second runs I did still feel like I was going to die, but I think it might be getting a little better.

I am noticing a difference when it comes to training in the evening vs. the morning.  I’m definitely better in the morning, but I know I won’t always have time to do it then.

Saturday, we were going down to Newport, RI to see my inlaws, so I brought my stuff with me so I could do day 5 on Sunday morning.  I’m glad I did.  It was about 65 out and I did a walk/run from my father-in-law’s house to Goat Island and back.  It was so nice to walk/run along the water.

I was finally able to make it through the 60 second runs without looking at the time.  There was a couple of times in my head that I was thinking, “OMG tell me to walk already”, but a lot of the intervals the program told me to walk before I was begging for it.

I’m going to do “day 3” of week 1 one more time and then I’ll move onto week 2 next.  I’m either going to do it tonight or tomorrow morning.

I’m a little scared of trying to run for 90 seconds, but at least the recovery period is a little longer (2 minutes instead of a minute and a half).

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

