I have drank the farm share “kool-aid”

Over the last couple of years, I have been trying to make it to farmers markets, but always play it safe and never know what I want to buy.  That is the times I actually make it.

I started hearing about farm shares and coops and decided to give it a try this year.

I joined the Farm Direct Coop.

What I like about this one in particiular is you can choose a seperate vegetable and fruit share.  Plus it’s not just one farm.  It’s a whole bunch of them.  So you don’t get stuck with the same vegetables week after week after week.

Another friend was interested, so we decided to share a small vegetable share.  I also get a fruit share, a chef’s share and I just decided to add the cheese share.

The produce has been AMAZING!  Last night, the raspberries that I had in my fruit share were so good that they didn’t make it home!

What I’ve truly been liking about it though is I get what I get.

With this coop, there are some choices (this week was pick two out of corn, green onions, tomatoes, onions and zucchini).  It’s a really nice thing as a lot of coops you just get a box of stuff with no choice.

This week I got:

Herbed salt mix (chef’s share)
Zucchini
Onions
Grape Tomatoes
Eggplant
Kale
Garlic
Pears
Peaches
Raspberries

I pick up on Thursdays (choice is Tuesday or Thursdays).  I picked Thursdays as I figured that weekend time would be good for cooking.  Plus it’s the same night as the farmers market in Salem, so if I want to supplement what I received, it gives me a chance to see what my share is and then run over to the market.

When I get home and put my stuff away, I start looking up recipes and decide what I’m going to cook based on what I got.  It’s nice because instead of having to say, “what am I in the mood for?”, I get to say, “Ok, I have eggplant, zucchini and onions, what am I going to do with these?”.

Based on this week’s share, I’m going to make Zucchini Eggplant Lasagna.

I’ve been cooking a lot more thanks to the share and trying some new things (loving kale and bok choy).  I’m going to be sad in the winter when I’m no longer getting the share.

I will definitely be doing this again next year.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

