Couch to 5K Days 1 and 2 Completed!

So I “cut the cord” and just did it.

Saturday morning, I got up at 7 AM and started the Couch to 5K program.

Week 1 workout:

Warm up 5 minutes brisk walking
Alternate running 60 seconds and walking 90 seconds for 20 minutes
Cool down 5 minutes

My friend met me at my house and we started down towards Salem State bike path to do our run/walk.

The first 60 second run wasn’t so bad.  I got winded, but I didn’t feel like I was going to die, but the time the 20 minutes was up though, I was like, “please don’t say run again!!!” (I have an app that tells me when to walk and when to run).

I do have to say that I highly recommend the app.  I knew I was going to want to listen to music and the app does allow your music to play as well, but then I don’t have to be constantly looking at my walk and timing how long I walk and how long I run.  60 seconds is longer than you think when you are completely out of breath and then the 90 seconds in between is always too short.

We both made it through and when I got back to my house I stretched A LOT!

After I had an appointment and then decided I could handle Dance Mania.  My legs were feeling a bit sore, but I figured some dancing might actually help.

It wasn’t until I was out to dinner with friends that night and finally sitting still for a while that I realized how sore I was!  When I got up from the table, I almost stumbled from it!

Originally I was going to try TRX on Sunday morning, but at that point I knew I had to cancel.

I tend to get overexcited and try too many new things at once.  I made a decision that TRX had to go back to the list for a while until Couch to 5K wasn’t so new.  I think if I tried both new things at once, it might be too much.

So Sunday I ended up sleeping late and then walking around the mall.  I felt sore, but the same sore that I felt when I started spinning years ago.  I feel it the most when I walk down stairs, but it’s tolerable.

With the soreness, I wasn’t sure if I should run this morning, but sometimes warming those muscles back up helps a bit, so I set the alarm for 6 AM and decided to go for it.

Finally stopped hitting snooze at 6:30 AM and debated just going back to sleep.  Forced myself to get out of bed and get ready.

That is when I realized I had no battery on my phone and I forgot to charge it.

So then I spent 20 minutes waiting for my battery to get to 23% and then praying that it was enough to run the app and some music for 30 minutes.

I went out and did the same route that I did on Saturday.  The first 60 second run was harder than it was on Saturday due to the soreness already being there.  I did every run though when it told me too.  There was one run towards the end that I ended a few seconds early because I just didn’t have it in me.

Once thing that I have noticed though is I don’t hate it.  At least so far.  I feel good when it’s done because I feel like I’m working at something.

I can’t imagine running for more than 60 seconds at this point.  I might have to repeat week 1 before I go onto week 2 which is 90 seconds of running and then 120 seconds of walking. 

I know a lot of people who have said that that have repeated weeks.

I’m definitely sore and I’ll be working at a computer right now for the rest of the day so hopefully I won’t get too stiff.

My plan for the rest of the week is:

Tuesday – Zumba
Wednesday – Yoga
Thursday – Couch to 5K day 3
Friday – rest
Saturday – Zumba

My parents took me out for dinner for a belated birthday last night and we were talking about my training.  I was telling them that I wanted to do a race in December.  My mom wants to be there for my first race!  That made me even more excited that they want to support me like that.  It feels amazing.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

