I’m just going to do it and train for my first 5K!

It’s time for a new challenge.  It’s been a while since I’ve tried something new.

Doing a 5K has been on my “bucket list” for a while.

I’ve never been a runner.  I remember back in grade school when we would have to do the 600 yard dash, I was always in the last group, walking it, dying for it to be over.

In high school I got smart and always had “cramps” that day so I didn’t have to embarress myself on the track.

In college I would walk a track once in a while, but never even attempt to jog or run.

Now I actually want to try it.  I have no idea if I’m going to like it or not, but how will I ever know?

Last night I took the first step, I went to New England Running Company (http://www.nerunningco.com/) in Beverly and got properly fitted for running sneakers.

I might not know a lot about running yet, but I do know the importance of good fitting shoes.  Especially when running.

The guy watched me walk and noted that I over pronate and have a wide foot.  I tried on sneaker after sneaker, running back and forth in them and having the guy watch me.  When it came down to two pairs that were good, I ran in one shoe from each pair on my feet and then switched, settling with a New Balance pair.  I almost ended up with the Brooks, but the New Balance felt slightly better.

I would definitely recommend the place to anyone looking for a running shoe.  The guys were knowledgable and very nice.  I felt no pressure to buy or pick one shoe over another.

Step 2, pick a program.

Can’t just walk out of my house and just run!

I picked the popular Couch to 5K (http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml).  I’ve heard a lot of good things about this and know a lot of people who have had success following the program.  There is an iPhone app available too that follows the program through active.com (well there are many apps available, but the active.com one is the “official one”).  It cost 1.99, but it sounded worth it as it will allow me to listen to my music and at the same time give me prompts about when to walk and when to run.  It will also use gps to track my distance.

I’m also going to sign up for a Couch to 5K class at my Y which meets on Saturday mornings at 7:15 AM.  If I’m supposed to run 3 times a week for the program then I figure that is definitely once and will help keep me on track.

Next step, sign up for a race.

From what I’m told, it’s another way to stay on track.  I think I’m going to sign up for the Wild Turkey 5K Run on Thanksgiving (http://www.salemroadraces.com/).  It will give me time to train, but not time to blow things off and at the same time it’s a race that some people do run/walk so I won’t be stress if I can’t run the whole thing by then.

I’m excited and terrified about this whole thing.  I’ve decided that I’m definitely going to train for that first 5K and then make my decision on whether or not this is something I want to continue doing.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

