Yearly Physical (!@@##@$@# Cholesterol!)

I’ll start with the good news.

According to my PCP’s scale, my BMI is down from 54 (327lbs) to 40 (234lbs).

My neck now measures 14 1/2 inches (was 17 inches at the highest).

I was previously borderline to pre-diabetic, now my sugar is perfect.

My blood pressure is perfect as is my heart rate.

Everything is good, except for my cholesterol, which has actually gone up.

Amazingly, my triglycerides are not the problem.  They have gone down from 311 to 177 and are in the normal range.

It’s my LDL that is the big problem.  My PCP wants it close to 100.  It’s been consistently in the 150 – 170 range for years and now is at 204.  BIG problem.

My HDL is also borderline normal.  It should be above 39 and it came in right at 39.

My ratio is the highest it’s every been.  7.1!!! (should be under 5).

It’s just incredibly frustrating to have no control over such things.  I try to be realistic about it as genetics are not in my favor (both of my healthy weight parents are on cholesterol meds).  It just sucks.

My PCP and I both accept that maybe this is the way things are going to be for me.  He is thrilled with my progress.  He knows that I have done everything possible at this point to try to bring it down.

I left the office with lots of congratulations on everything else and a prescription for a higher dose of simvastatin.

I am a good example of how weight loss doesn’t always fix everything.

I see so many people thinking that weight loss is going to make all of their problems go away.  WLS is often advertised as a way to get off all of your weight related medications.  Sometimes though, things are hereditary or just there.

There are healthy weight people out there with high blood pressure, pain, sleep apnea, high cholesterol, diabetes, etc.

Who knows, maybe someday I will get off the statins and my body will catch up, but I’m not counting on it at this point.

I’m happy with everything else though and hope by the time that my physical comes around next year, I’ll be at an even lower weight than I am now.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yearly Physical (!@@##@$@# Cholesterol!)

  1. Pingback: Blood test result victory | nancygettinghealthy

Leave a Reply

