Theme parks and weight loss

About 10 years ago, I had lost about 40lbs and made it into the 260s and had the most embarressing thing possible happen to me at a theme park.

I was about to get on one of those river rapids rides and the seat belt wouldn’t fit.  I had to get off the ride in front of all of my friends.

Friends who had never had a weight issue in their life.

I shrugged it off and appeared to let it go.

Ever since then, every ride I go on, gives me anxiety.  Until now.

I have to admit that I still have a little fear sometimes, but I just went to Hersey Park, Idlewild and Kennywood and had the greatest time.

I went on the flying horses for the first time in forever.  Every seatbelt fit with room to spare.  I went on the kiddie rides with my son and got to enjoy myself!  I went on every ride that I wanted to and knew I would enjoy (I have a major fear of heights so I skip anything that goes high up).  My weight didn’t get in the way of enjoying rides!

I feels good to feel “normal”.  That’s all that I really want.  Is to have a “normal” life.

“Normal” to me is not worrying about my weight.  I know that isn’t true because everyone seems to worry about it no matter what their weight, but that is what’s in my brain.

I also noticed that I’m enjoying being in pictures again.  I actually want pictures of me taken.  I’m still super critical of them, but I’m trying to be more accepting of pictures that I don’t personally consider perfect.

I have my physical today and in the first time in a long time, I’m not stressed about it either.  I have less than 10lbs to reaching 100lbs lost and I’m looking forward to reaching that milestone.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

