So much to catch up on…

The last couple of weeks have been really busy and hectic, but a lot of good things have happened.

First of all, I got on a plane for the first time since October.

I had about 6 inches extra on the seatbelt!

I had space between my belly and the tray table.

I didn’t feel smooshed up to the person next to me.

I was able to bend forward and grab my backpack without effort!

It felt really good.  It made flying as pleasant as it was going to be.

Then at the conference I had so much more energy!  My coworkers were calling me the energizer bunny.  At Disney, I was able to go on rides and not worry and have plenty of room.  I wasn’t afraid of the camera.  I actually saw pictures that I thought I looked good in.  Here is one of my favorites from the conference:

That is me on the right.

I told a coworker at the conference that I still had 90lbs to lose and she was like “from where?”. 

I danced until 2 AM and was able to be bouncy and jump around and have fun.

Losing the weight just makes such a difference.

Then on Sunday, it was time to do the NSMC Cancer Walk.  This event has always been important to me and it’s my 4th year in a row doing the walk. 

The walk is a 10k around Salem, MA.  This year we did the shorter version of the walk because my dad is in remission, but I definitely could have easily done the whole 10k.  Last year I did it, but was sore after.

The funny part is I walk a lot faster now in general.  My husband and father were always behind me and I just couldn’t walk slower.

To get a comparision:

Next year, maybe I’ll even be able to do the 5k run!

My sister took this picture and I just love it:

When I saw it, I was like woah, is that me?  I know I’m still considered obese, but I need these pictures to see the difference that this journey has made.

Even just the difference in my face and my neck is amazing!

With everything that is going on lately though, I am so out of routine.  I need to get back into my healthy routine and habits of bringing my breakfast and lunch to work and getting back to the gym at least 4 times a week.  I don’t want to backslide.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

