Great trip to York’s wild Kingdom and amusement park yesterday

This weekend was a really great weekend. My husband travels so much over the summer that I rarely get to go on day trips with him in the nice weather. On Sunday we went to the Newburyport Spring Festival which was really nice and a lot of fun walking around all day.

Yesterday we went up to York Maine to go to the zoo up there and it also had an amusement park. I have never let my weight get in the way in the past, but amusement parks, rides, things like that would always stress me out.

Several years ago when I went to Six Flags I had a ride that I couldn’t fit on. It was really embarrassing that I had to get off the ride and couldn’t ride with my friends. Ever since then I’ve had anxiety before getting on a ride. What if the seatbelt didn’t fit?

I had the same anxiety yesterday when going on rides with my son. My confidence grew throughout the day though as the seatbelts were looser and looser. It felt really good to lose some of the stress and just have a good time with my family.

I am 35 pounds lighter than that time with the seatbelt not fitting.

I am at a weight that I don’t remember being at since college.

June will be my first time flying since college that I’m not going to be stressed about having a belt extension or fitting in the seat. It’s really exciting not to feel that stress anymore.

I am still too critical of myself in pictures. I took a really cute picture of me and my son with a snake on us yesterday at the zoo and all I can see is my flab. I really need to learn to get over that. I think everybody is over critical of themselves in pictures though no matter what their weight.

We are taking my son to a lot of amusement parks in August and I’m looking forward to having confidence going on rides with him.

Posted via LiveJournal app for iPad.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

