Went to support group tonight

Went to both the 6 months + post op group and the pre-op/immediate post-op group.  I fit in both categories.

The first group was mostly about sleep and sleeping disorders.  We did a Dr. Oz quiz about it that had a lot of interesting information.

The group was pretty quiet in general.  One girl made a comment about how she liked it when it was just open forum.  Nobody was talking, so you can't have it be open forum without that.  I prefer it that way too, but I really didn't have anything to ask about tonight.

The second group was all about questions having surgery.  There are a lot of preops so there are a lot more vocal people who want to know what it's like.

Even though I have the sleeve now, I really can't answer questions yet about what life is like with the sleeve.  I can only speak to the immediate surgery/recovery.

I did end up answering some lapband questions though as I do know what that's like.  I spoke about how I am part of the percentage that the band just didn't work with.  I made it clear though that I don't blame the band and I still think it's a good surgery.

That is something that I have trouble with.  I know band successes so I don't want someone to decide against it because of my personal experience.

There was a lot of discussion about why you have to give up caffeine and how hard it is.  It does suck.  I won't deny it.  I miss my coffee.  There was a woman who admitted that the day she was 6 months post op, she went back to decaf.  That will probably be me.

After the meeting, I met one of my readers (if you are reading this now, Hi!).  It was really cool to know that someone (not on livejournal) has actually read this.  It was a surreal experience meeting him because it was someone I was meeting for the first time who has read and knows all of my ups and downs.  Very cool though and I was thrilled.

I see my surgeon tomorrow and I'm definitely going to ask him if I can go back to work on Thursday.  I was out all day today and out tonight and I'm fine.  I think I'm ready and I would rather save my time for an actually vacation.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Went to support group tonight

  1. nwhiker says:

    I am amazed at how quickly you seem to be recovering, that’s great.
    How cool to meet a reader! That hasn’t ever happened to me (many of my readers are friends, so I know them, but I’ve never met someone who just knew me through my lj… humm… considering some of the things on my lj, that might be a good thing…..)
    Good luck with the appointment with the surgeon, I hope you can get back to work and move on to the Next Phase of recovery.
    Now I’m off to google why caffeine is a no-no. 🙂

    • nancykerins says:

      Thanks! I have to admit that I tend to do better than average thanks to good immune system and a high pain tolerance.
      Caffeine is a no-no because it’s an irritant and after having a stomach surgery with a smaller pouch it’s irritating at first and then it’s more likely to cause ulcers in the smaller pouch.
      My program only has it as a no-no for a year, but some people have trouble digesting it and never go back.

  2. pollyhyper says:

    I am a prime example of succeeding while breaking some rules. I’ll tell you about them (like coffee) if you want, but you might be better off not knowing…

    • nancykerins says:

      I totally drank caffeine before the year was up last time and had some booze as well.
      I’m allowed to have decaf after 6 months and you bet August 12th I will have decaf (if not before).

      • pollyhyper says:

        I had decaf a week after (ok’d by doc) but only a small cup/day.
        @ 2 months post-op I was almost crying to the nurse at my surgeon’s office. She said something along the lines of “I’m not allowed to tell you anything except that the guide says not to have coffee, but it’s lovely weather today, isn’t it? And I was just reading this article about how having a cup or so of [caffeinated] coffee per day is good for you, as long as you don’t feel yourself coming down with reflux/ulcer issues…” and winked.
        I still only drink about 2 (normal size) cups per day, and lots of water afterward.

Leave a Reply

