Home from the hospital

So glad to be home and in my own bed!

Surgery did get delayed to the afternoon on Monday due to an emergency coming in.

This was a lot harder than the band.  The band I was up and about and ready to go home the same day.

This gave me such bad nausea (which is very normal).  They really had to work on finding the right cocktail.  I was throwing up even just the smallest ice chip.

I was supposed to originally go home yesterday, but then the nausea and vomiting came back and I went back medications to make it all stop.

Pain wise, hasn't been bad.  I'm sore at my incision sites, but I stopped taking the morphine the first night.  It would just make the nausea worse and I wasn't in enough pain to need it.  I've lucked out in life to have a high pain tolerance.

So now I'm home in bed, sipping at a protein shake.  Working on keeping myself hydrated so I won't end up back in the hospital.

I did have to go home with a drain in and I have to empty it myself.  It's a bit on the icky side, but all a part of this.  It's on o

I'm really looking forward to seeing my son tonight when he gets home from daycare.  I'm glad I have some settle in time, but I do really miss him.

I think an afternoon nap is calling me too.

Looking forward to just continuing on the path to recovery.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home from the hospital

  1. lappymeal says:

    So glad everything went well! Feel better soon.

  2. nwhiker says:

    Yay, you’re back!
    Glad there wasn’t too much pain, and that you’re home! Sorry about the icky nausea and vomiting, that must have hurt.
    Good luck with the recovery!
    Hugging little boys (or little girls, if you haven’t to have those, both work fine, I know!) is a wonderful thing, even if it needs to be done gently. Enjoy!

  3. jmg90 says:

    Glad it went well!
    So glad to hear that everything went well. Had I known you were on the floor, I would have gotten you to be in some video yesterday for the program!
    Take care and heal fast!
    -Jean

Leave a Reply

