So I made the call today to change from lapband to the sleeve

I called M with NSMC Weight Loss to discuss the change and let her know about it.  She is going to call A who schedules things and deals with insurance stuff to see what we need to do.

The good news is I've had a lot of appointments lately and that will help with insurance issues.  I have been seeing my surgeon and Heart and Wellness regularly to keep working at my issues.

I can't and don't blame the band.

The band didn't fail me.

It might not have been the right surgery for me, but there was nothing wrong with the band.

I am sad and disappointed in myself.  No matter what anyone says, that is the way I feel.

I am happy that I'm not letting this go one though and I'm still working, trying and not giving up.

My husband is beyond adorable about the whole thing and makes me love him more.  He is supportive in any decision I make (although the bypass freaks him out too) and just wants me to tell him how he can best support me.  He knows that being the food police is not the answer and I will always appreciate the fact that he NEVER questions my food choices.  He knows that leads to sneaking food and binges with me.

What is important now is:

  1. I keep trying to eat healthy and trying to lose weight
  2. I keep exercising
  3. I keep taking my supplements
  4. I do as much research about the sleeve as possible to be 100% sure
  5. I recognize that I have lost 35lbs and kept it off
  6. I recognize that I'm still working and that I am doing a good job by not giving up

I will get through this.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So I made the call today to change from lapband to the sleeve

  1. lappymeal says:

    😦 Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that. I’m sorry that you are going through all of this again. I support your decision very much, though, and am glad that you are pursuing what is best for you.
    The bypass freaks me out too, but I keep thinking about how much more I would have lost with the bypass vs. the band. I will probably get one if my band slips or whatever.
    I recognize that you feel sad and disappointed in yourself, but I wish you wouldn’t be. The band is not a fixall. This is simply a solution that didn’t work for you. You will find a solution, that I believe.
    All of this is really hard. I commend you for the hard work that has brought you this far. No matter what happens, you have been successful thus far. It’s simply not the right fit for you.

    • nancykerins says:

      Thanks!
      I met someone last night with a similar band experience who just converted to the bypass.
      I appreciate your support and encouragement.
      I do feel good that I haven’t given up and that I keep trying. I’m just scared. That is all that there is to it.

Leave a Reply

