Finally made it back to the gym last night

I just feel better when I'm exercising.

It's been a couple of weeks since I was able to make it to the gym due to hectic schedules, my back hurting and being away.

I definitely noticed a difference.  First, because I hadn't been in a few weeks, the class was SO MUCH HARDER!  Even though I remembered the moves, I definitely sweated more and got very out of breath.

The other difference I noticed though, is how good I felt when it was over and how my mood was so much better.

I will be going to my favorite, Aqua Zumba, tonight and tomorrow night I have Zumba Toning.

I did also pay for the introductory personal training package.  I can't afford to do much, but they had a deeply discounted 3 pack price if you had never done personal training at the Y before.  I need to do more strength training and I figure if I use a personal trainer for a few weeks, it will help me get back into a routine.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally made it back to the gym last night

  1. nwhiker says:

    Oooh, could you please post about the personal trainer thing when it happens? I don’t belong to a gym or the Y, but I really need to get some upper body strength training in (I’ve stopped lifting weights… the boredom of it was hurting my brain, bad me!), and I’d love to hear from someone who is an exerciser but not a gym-goddess YET 🙂 what it’s like to work with a personal trainer.

    • nancykerins says:

      Before having my son (couldn’t afford it once I had daycare costs), I worked with a trainer for years and LOVED it.
      Part of the key (for me at least) with a trainer, is it’s an appointment that gets you there and you learn a lot about proper form.
      You learn how to push yourself without hurting yourself. You also sometimes have to try a few trainers because it helps when you mesh with them personally too.
      I wish I could use my old trainer, but I’m not at the same place as her anymore.
      Things to be careful of is people who try to put you on supplements, special diets, etc. I can’t STAND that.
      I like someone who is going to push me and be a little stern without policing me. It’s a fine line. Some trainers go a little too boot camp and it can be annoying. I want to be a healthy amount of sore after trainer, but still able to move.
      I also prefer a female trainer because learning good form can only involve touching and I love it when a trainer does assistive stretching. I’m more comfortable being touched by another female.
      I got a recommendation last night from one of the Zumba instructers at the gym who knows me real well. I’ll probably make an appointment starting after thanksgiving (I’m cooking so from now until then will be super stressful).
      It’s something that I would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to do strength training as proper training and form can be so important to avoid injury. It’s also good for our bones to avoid issues later in life.

Leave a Reply

