I completely blew off the eating guidelines last night

I think  I was rebeling against them a bit.

Yesterday, I got up and made myself some oatmeal with peanut butter and banana before the gym.  I ate it when I got hungry.

Then my son had soccer at 1 and I didn't have time to eat lunch even though I was hungry, so we ate after soccer.  I was actually ok with that.  During the practice/game (which is only an hour total as he is only 3), I was fine.

We decided to go to Unos for a quick lunch as we were seeing The Lion King at 4.  Well usually Unos is quick.  We had the worst waitress we have ever had.  So bad that the Unos manager ended up picking up the check AND giving us a coupon for a free entree for the next time we come in.

We didn't even have to ask him to come over, he automatically did and knew things were going horrible already.  She didn't even come to greet us and take our drink orders for about 15 minutes.  I would have been understanding about this if she was slammed, but she only had one other table.

Then we ordered right away when she did show up.  It took another 20 minutes for my appetizer salad to show up (usually it comes out almost immediately). 

When she brought us our drinks, she said in a very weird, but not apologetic tone, "Oh I just heard you were waiting a while.  Sorry".  She was obviously not.

It's now about an hour after we got there and we still don't have our food.  We are reading to walk out.  We look at the bill on the little computer thing that they put on the table and realize that she never put in the order for my entree!

It just kept getting worse and worse.  We asked for refills and she brought us out the wrong drinks.   The fact that she came by our table and saw empty glasses and we had to ASK for the refills.

We watched the people in another section come in 20 minutes after us, get their appetizers, their meals and their check and we still had not gotten our food.  It was obviously not a problem in the kitchen.  It was 3 in the afternoon, there was almost nobody in there.

When they manager came over, we were honest, but friendly to him.  When we arrived we had an hour and 40 minutes to get to the movie.  We left with 10 minutes to get to the movie.

I really wanted something sweet at that time, but I ignored it as I was full.  I drank water during the movie.

We still weren't hungry after the movie, so we took our son to Mall Tots to run around.

Didn't leave until about 8 PM and went through the Kelly's drive through to get food for my husband and son.

My husband kinda ragged on me when I took a bite of his roast beef as it was eating in the car.

By the time we got home, everyone was exhausted.  This was the point where I just wanted to eat and watch tv and did not want to follow the eating guidelines.

I warmed up my leftovers from Unos and came to the bed and watched tv while I ate.  Then I ate the rest of a bag of m&ms.  Then I baked the rest of some frozen cookies and shared cookies and milk with my husband.  After that I finally felt satisfied.

Today I'm deciding to be ok with that.  I didn't force myself to follow the guidelines when I really didn't want to and that is ok.  Change does not come through force.  

Right now though, I am choosing to follow them.

Luckily the theaters show a ton of previews as we got there before the beginning of the movie (barely).

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

