I went to a yoga class at the Y last night

I have to say that I was not impressed.

First, it was WAY bright in the room.  Most yoga classes that I have ever been too have always dimmed the lights or only had some soft light on.  I actually found the brightness distracting.

It was supposed to be a beginner intermediate class.  I felt as though the instructor rushed through the move and didn't tell you anything about the postures and what they were supposed to be doing for your body.  I felt like we were doing "cardio yoga", not hatha yoga.

Her voice was not soft at all.  A lot of her poses were impossible to do outright unless you were beyond flexible.  She gave you no modifications so if you were new, you would have no idea what else you could do.

I also did not find balance in the practice.  Usually in a yoga class, you work in opposites where you bring tension to an area and then do another move to decompress afterwards.

I don't think I'll go to this particular class again.

It's a bummer that there really aren't yoga classes at the times that I would like at the Y. 

I'm sure a lot of people like her style and that is fine.  She is just not for me.

I guess I'm looking for the dark, calm, relaxing yoga teacher who is really into the spiritual part of the yoga as well as the exercise part.  I want yoga to feel "cozy" in the room and not bright and harsh.  I want someone with a soothing foods that guides me through the moves and doesn't rush anything.  All of my yoga teachers to this point have had those qualities.

They offer some classes through the hospital and one of my favorite yoga teachers from Healthworks teachings a couple of them so I think I'll look to sign up for a class with her next session.  I'm also going to check out some of the pay by class studios in the area to see if there are any offerings that I like.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

