First therapy session since the Women, Food and God workshop

I saw my therapist for the first time today since the workshop and it was a really good session. I brought her copies of all of the blog entries that I wrote based on the workshop and we are going to keep going through them and discuss feelings, thoughts, quotes, etc. that I wrote down.

She likes the idea of the eating guidelines and is really encouraging as it's not a diet and it's a way to learn a healthy relationship with food (which has always been my goal).

It felt really good to discuss it with her and I look forward to my session next Wednesday.

What both of us like best about the guidelines is that they are guidelines. They are not black and white and they are not rules. Sometimes I might follow all 7, sometimes a combination, sometimes none at all.

I have a big problem with "all or nothing" thinking. If I'm not perfect, I failed and therefore I might as well just eat anyway because why bother (says The Voice).

The guidelines are a good way to throw away that attitude as there is no expectation behind them.

We also talked about my "friendship" with food and my exclusion issues, especially when it comes to my older sisters who are twins.  How food became my twin.

I'm feeling good that I am making some breakthroughs that will help to stop the vicious cycle of losing, gaining, losing, gaining and get me to a place where I can have a healthy relationship with food.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment