Eating Guideline #3: Eat without distractions. This includes radio, television, newspapers…

Eat without distractions.  Distractions include radio, television, newspapers, books, intense or anxiety-producing conversations or music.

1.  What is my reaction to this eating guideline?

WHAT?!?!?!?!?   Even when I eat with my husband, the tv is usually on.  What do you mean eat without distraction?  Without distracting myself I'll be really bored and it will be all quiet and everything.

2.  What is scary about it?  Would anyone else be threatened?

I'm usually eating alone as I often eat after the gym around 8PM.  My son has already gone to bed and my husband usually is on a different schedule than me. 

My husband is not threatened by this.  I told him last time that I was only going to eat at the kitchen and dining room table and his only reaction was, "Oh.  Do you want me to eat there too?".

I think if we are eating at the same time though I'll ask him to eat with me.

It's scary because it's too quiet.  I don't like silence.  Even at work I usually have the radio on as background noise even if I'm not truly listening as it helps me concentrate.

I truly enjoy going out to lunch alone, reading a book and eating.   It's scary to think about eating alone in public without a book.

3.  How would my life need to change?

I would need to stop eating in front of the tv. 

I would need to actually take a short lunch break at work instead of working while I eat.

I would need to stop eating in my bedroom while watching nightly tv.

I think I would still read in restaurants while reading a book, but resolve to stop reading when my food comes.

I would have to stop ordering popcorn and other snacks at the movie theater.

4.  What is exciting about the following guideline?

The majority of my overeating is done at the computer, in front of the tv or at the movie theater. 

If I eat without distraction, the eating can just become about the food and not about the activity.

I will also probably eat less as I won't associate tv or movies with snacking (which I currently do).

My binges are generally in my bedroom while watching tv.   Eating without distraction will cut down on binges as I will have to pay attention to what I am eating.

I'm feeling slightly agitated after writing this post.  The thought of not eating popcorn while watching a movie makes me a bit on the sad side.  I truly love movie theater popcorn.

I need to remember that these are not rules they are guidelines.  There is no black and white in this.  There is no pass/fail.  If I don't follow a guideline once, it doesn't mean that I failed and that I suck.

I have to remember that I am not perfect and there are going to be times where I don't follow the guidelines.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

