Eating Guideline #1: Eat when you are hungry

1.  What is my reaction to this eating guideline?

I have so many reactions as it's counter-intuitive to everything that I've ever been taught.  Most of my family doesn't have a weight/food issue, but they are MUNCHERS.  We would always get snacks at the movies.  We would always have special snacks when watching Sunday night tv.

Also, I've always been told not to skip meals, so if I eat when I'm hungry, then I'm not going to be eating breakfast most days.

2.  What is scary about it?  Would anyone else be threatened?

I don't think anyone in my life would be threatened by this.  I think what is scary is waiting until I'm hungry and then once I'm hungry, what if there is no food around?  What if I'm in a meeting?  In the middle of a movie?  When I am out and about?

3.  How would my life need to change?

I would stop having planned snacks.  A lot of times I'll have a snack before a meeting or before the gym so I don't get hungry.  Especially the gym as I am planning the snack to make sure my body has the proper fuel before exercising.

4.  What is exciting about the following guideline?

it's exciting to think that food can become about hunger and nothing else.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

