Day one of trying to follow the eating guidelines

So I am back at work now and back to my life and trying to keep the zen I had at the Kripalu Center.  I am working on back filling everything that I wrote down while there for the weekend.

I do want to document the whole experience here, but also I think retyping it helps reinforce everything that  I wrote down and helps me to remember what I want to do and the questions that I have.

So everything was easier at Kripalu.  Last night I was laying in bed, alone, not hungry around 10 PM watching True Blood and all I wanted to do was eat.  I felt "itchy", agitated.  I kept having to say to myself, "you are not hungry, you do not need to eat".  Why did I even want to eat?  I was tired, but I wasn't bored.  I think I'm just used to having something to do with my hands while watching tv (or a movie) and that thing is usually eating.

I didn't give into though and kept repeating to myself that I am not hungry and did not need to eat.

On the way home from Kripalu, N and I stopped at the Wrenthem outlets so I didn't get home until almost 9 PM.  I did not have time to food shop.  I actually haven't even really looked in my refridgerator to see what food we do have so today I'm winging it.

I didn't feel hungry for breakfast, so I didn't eat anything.  I did have some coffee though when I went down to teach my part of new employee orientation.

I didn't feel hungry when I got back so I just kept working.

I posted to Geneen Roth on FB about breakfast eating and her thoughts.  I was always taught not to skip meals and that my body needs something in the morning and that is good for my metabolism.  Eating when I'm not hungry though conflicts with the very first eating guideline though.

I got some tea when I felt thirsty.

I didn't get hungry until about 1:30 PM.  I went across the street to the pizza place and got a greek salad with steak tips on top.  I came back to my desk and decided that I was going to shut off the monitor and eat without distractions.

It was really hard.  I actually still feel a bit agitated from the whole experience.  The whole time things kept popping into my head about emails to send and phone calls to make and I had to resist them all.

The whole thing took about 15 minutes and it was agony at times.  I really hope it gets easier.  I'm still so tense.

I planned to eat about 1/2 the salad and steak tips and see how I felt afterwards.  I am still having trouble figuring out in the immediate if I am full or not.  Now I feel full and satisfied, but a 1/2 hour ago I was sitting there wondering if I should have another bite.  I decided that it would be better to put the salad away and eat more later if I got hungry again then to continue eating.  That was definitely something new.

Geneen kept saying that change does not happen through force, but if I don't force myself to follow the eating guidelines about eating without distraction, then I will never change.  I don't see myself ever wanting to eat without distraction.

Either way, it's a step in the right direction.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day one of trying to follow the eating guidelines

  1. Cynde says:

    Nancy,
    Thank you so much for your blog. I am going to a Geneen Roth retreat in a couple months and found your blog. I, also, have a lap band. It makes it different to listen to your body. I am in the infancy of being aware of and present with myself and food. I try to pay attention to when I am no longer hungry and I know (in my head) that in 20 minutes I will feel “full”. However, there is that underlying fear that I will be hungry. I don’t have a history of being hungry as a kid (that I consciously remember). I think I have taught myself to be afraid that I will be deprived and scared of being hungry. I eat like every meal like I won’t be able to eat again. How I feel full is so changed with the lap band. Being “full” does not always translate to having enough to eat (hair loss, headache, tired). I am taking on the difference between my head and my heart with excitement and trepidation!

Leave a Reply

